Welcome to the Senate Republican Press Search.

View Article Details


Fowler named to coal board Group promotes, develops agenda for coal research


Sunday, March 19, 2017  |  Article  |  STAFF

Coal (20) Fowler, Dale--State Senate, 59

SPRINGFIELD — State Sen. Dale Fowler (R-59th District) has been appointed to the Illinois Coal Development Board to fill a vacancy left by the retirement of former Sen. David Luechtefeld of Okawville.

“I am looking forward to this new role on the Coal Development Board and hope that it will be a tool for revitalizing our coal industry in Southern Illinois,” Fowler said. “It is my hope that as the energy market rebounds, our Illinois coal miners will return to the industry.

The Illinois Coal Development Board promotes and develops an annual agenda for research and methodologies to increase the use of Illinois coal resources, and advises the Office of Coal Development and Illinois Clean Coal Institute on coal research and development policy and projects.

The board is comprised of a bipartisan group of legislators from the Illinois Senate and House of Representatives and representatives from various facets of the Illinois coal industry.

Fowler was elected as Senator to the 59th District in November.

He is a member of the Commerce and Economic Development Committee as a minority spokesperson, the Committee of the Whole, and the Agriculture, Transportation, Gaming and Higher Education committees.

He was previously the business development officer for Peoples National Bank, former mayor of Harrisburg, Harrisburg City Commissioner, Saline County Board member and retired from the Illinois Department of Juvenile Justice.

He is a previous chairman of the Fowler-Bonan Foundation, a member of the Delta Regional Authority-Delta Leadership Network and a member of the First Presbyterian Church of Harrisburg.

The Illinois 59th Senate District encompasses all of Hamilton, Saline, Gallatin, Williamson, Hardin, Pope, Johnson, Massac, Pulaski and Alexander counties, the majority of Franklin County, and a portion of Union and Jackson counties in Southern Illinois.