Welcome to the Senate Republican Press Search.

View Article Details


Six Illinois counties qualify for disaster assistance after flooding

Carbondale Southern Illinoisan

Saturday, July 15, 2017  |  Article  |  STAFF

Agriculture (2) , Floods (42)

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated 24 counties in Missouri as primary natural disaster areas due to losses and damages caused by excessive rainfall and flooding that occurred from April 24 through May 11, so farmers and ranchers in six counties in Illinois also qualify for natural disaster assistance because the counties are contiguous.

The Illinois counties are Alexander, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair and Union.

All counties were designated natural disaster areas on July 6, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for Farm Service Agency emergency loans, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA has a variety of additional programs to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Interested farmers may contact their local USDA service centers for information on eligibility requirements and application procedures, as well as information about other programs or visit disaster.fsa.usda.gov.