Welcome to the Senate Republican Press Search.

View Article Details


Here's who will guide the new governor's administration Pritzker draws on some familiar names from both major parties to lead his transition team.

Crain's Chicago Business

Thursday, November 8, 2018  |  Column  |  Greg Hinz

Governor (44)

Mixing the familiar with a bit of bipartisan outreach, Gov.-elect J.B. Pritzker has announced the members of the transition team that will help him staff his administration, and he tapped his campaign manager to be his top governmental aide.

Serving the new governor as his chief of staff will be Anne Caprara, a veteran national political operative who was particularly active in Hillary Clinton's campaign for president. Caprara also will be senior adviser to the transition team.

The team itself will be chaired by Lt. Gov.-elect Juliana Stratton, who now is a state representative from Chicago.

Co-chairs will be former Gov. Jim Edgar, a Republican; early childhood education activist Barbara Bowman; Illinois AFL-CIO President Mike Carrigan; La Casa Norte Executive Director Sol Flores; and businessman Martin Nesbitt, a close friend of Barack Obama who served as his campaign treasurer in 2008 and 2012 and who's currently chairman of the Obama Foundation board. 

Almost as interesting is who will serve as transition team staff, often a launching pad for permanent jobs in the administration later.

Included will be a pair of campaign aides I previously reported might be in line for top jobs—senior adviser Nikki Budzinski and political director Sean Rapelyea—as well as former Illinois Comptroller Dan Hynes; state Rep. Christian Mitchell, the Illinois Democratic Party interim executive director; Michael Sacks, a major Democratic donor who's chairman and CEO of GCM Grosvenor and a longtime confidant of Mayor Rahm Emanuel; and Chicago Park District Board President Jesse Ruiz.